#communicateawareness

May is Speech and Hearing Month in Canada! Each year, Speech-Language & Audiology Canada (SAC) leads an initiative to raise public awareness about the work of speech-language pathologists, audiologists and communication health assistants and increase knowledge regarding communication health issues.

This May, people across Canada are participating in the #communicateawareness social media challenge, a Speech and Hearing Month campaign led by the Pan-Canadian Alliance (PCA) of speech-language pathology and audiology associations.

We want to challenge you to communicate to those around you without using your voice.  To participate, follow these three steps:

1. Think of a message you want to communicate. For example, try ordering something in a restaurant, asking for help in a store or sending well wishes to a friend.  The challenge is to find a way to communicate your message without using your voice. To do this, you could:

2. Take a photo or video of yourself completing the challenge and post it to Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram using #communicateawareness. Feel free to include reactions to your challenge (difficulties you encountered, how it made you feel, how other people responded, etc.)

3. Tag 3 people or groups in your post and call on them to participate in the #communicateawareness challenge!

Click here to download an instructions sheet you can share with those around you to promote the challenge.

#sensibilisationcommunication

Mai est le Mois de la parole et de l’audition au Canada !  Chaque année, Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) mène une initiative pour faire connaître au public le travail des orthophonistes, des audiologistes et des aides en santé de la communication et pour rehausser les connaissances au sujet de la santé de la communication.

En mai, les personnes à l’échelle du Canada participeront au défi #sensibilisationcommunication sur les médias sociaux, une campagne du Mois de la parole et de l’audition menée par l’Alliance pancanadienne (APC) des associations d’orthophonistes et d’audiologistes.

Nous voulons vous défier de communiquer sans utiliser votre voix. Pour participer au défi:

1. Pensez à un message que vous aimeriez communiquer. (Par exemple, commander un article du menu au restaurant, demander de l’aide dans une boutique ou envoyer des bons souhaits à un ami.) Le défi est de trouver une façon de communiquer votre message sans utiliser votre voix parlante.

Vous pourriez :

(*disponible en anglais seulement)

2. Prenez une photo ou une vidéo de vous-même en train de relever le défi et affichez-la sur Facebook, Twitter ou Instagram en utilisant le mot-clic #sensibilisationcommunication. N’hésitez pas à inclure les réactions à votre défi (les difficultés rencontrées, vos impressions, les réactions des autres personnes, etc.)

3. Ciblez 3 personnes ou groupes dans votre billet et demandez-leur de participer au défi #sensibilisationcommunication!

Cliquez ici pour télécharger un fiche d’instructions que vous pouvez partager pour promouvoir le défi!