About

May is Speech and Hearing Month

Many of us take our ability to communicate for granted, but the ability to speak, hear and be heard is much more vital to our everyday lives than most of us realize. For those who have difficulty communicating, everyday interactions can pose significant challenges. A communication disorder may prevent an individual from performing well at work, asking for help, hearing instructions at school or even saying ‘I love you’.

Each year, Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC) dedicates the month of May to raising public awareness about communication health. We work to highlight the importance of early detection and intervention in the treatment of communication disorders, and the role that our members and associates play in helping people to “Speak well. Hear well. Live well”.

Simon the Owl, our Speech and Hearing Month mascot, connects kids with communication

Early Identification and Intervention is Key

One in six people in Canada has a communication disorder. Communication disorders include speech, language, hearing, auditory, swallowing and balance disorders. They are treated by speech-language pathologists, audiologists and communication health assistants, known collectively as communication health professionals.

Communication disorders can have a significant impact on our physical, emotional, social, vocational and financial well-being, which is why it’s important to identify problems early on. No matter how old you are, the earlier that a disorder is identified, the better your chances are for improvement or even recovery.

Read about our 2017 Early Identification Campaign.

What Do Communication Health Professionals Do?

Speech-language pathologists and audiologists work with people of all ages to identify, assess and treat a wide range of communication disorders. Speech-language pathologists help to manage speech, language, voice, swallowing and feeding disorders, and audiologists work with individuals with hearing loss, auditory processing disorders, tinnitus and other auditory disorders, as well as balance disorders.

In addition to working in clinical settings, speech-language pathologists and audiologists work in research, education, advocacy, counselling, policy development and health administration. They are assisted by communication health assistants.

Ready to get involved? Click here to find out how you can participate in our 2017 Speech and Hearing Month campaign!

 

About SAC

Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC) is a member-driven organization that supports, promotes and elevates the professions of our members and associates. We are the only national organization passionately supporting and representing speech-language pathologists, audiologists and communication health assistants inclusively. Through this support, we champion the needs of people with communication disorders.

To learn more about SAC or to find a communication health professional near you, please visit www.communicationhealth.ca.

À propos

Mai est le Mois de la parole et de l’audition

Beaucoup d’entre nous tenons notre capacité de communiquer pour acquis, mais la capacité de parler, d’entendre et d’être entendu est bien plus vitale au quotidien que la plupart d’entre nous n’en avons conscience. Pour ceux et celles qui éprouvent de la difficulté à communiquer, les interactions journalières peuvent soulever des défis de taille. Un trouble de la communication peut empêcher une personne de bien performer au travail, de demander de l’aide, d’entendre les consignes à l’école ou même de dire « Je t’aime ».

Chaque année, Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) consacre le mois de mai à faire connaître la santé de la communication. Nous cherchons à souligner l’importance de l’identification et l’intervention précoces pour le traitement des troubles de la communication, et le rôle que nos membres et associés jouent au moment d’aider les personnes à « bien parler, bien entendre et bien vivre ».

Simon le hibou, notre mascotte du Mois de la parole et de l’audition, rapproche les enfants de la communication.

L’identification et l’intervention précoces sont essentielles

Une personne sur six au Canada a un trouble de la communication. Pareils troubles comprend les troubles de la parole, les troubles du langage, les troubles auditifs, les troubles du traitement auditif, les troubles de la déglutition et les troubles de l'équilibre. Ils sont traités par des orthophonistes, des audiologistes et des aides en santé de la communication, collectivement connus comme les professionnels en santé de la communication.

Les troubles de la communication peuvent avoir une grande incidence sur notre bien-être physique, émotionnel, social, professionnel et financier, ce qui explique pourquoi il est important que les troubles soient réglés tôt dans la vie. Peu importe votre âge, le plus tôt on identifie chez vous un trouble quelconque, meilleures seront vos chances d’amélioration ou même de rétablissement. 

Lire à propos de notre campagne d’identification précoce 2017.

Que font les professionnels en santé de la communication?

Les orthophonistes et les audiologistes travaillent avec les personnes de tous âges afin d’identifier, d’évaluer et de traiter divers troubles de la communication. Les orthophonistes aident à gérer les troubles de la parole, du langage, de la voix, de la déglutition ou de l’alimentation, et les audiologistes travaillent avec les personnes ayant des pertes auditives, des troubles du traitement auditif, des acouphènes et d’autres troubles auditifs, ainsi que des troubles de l’équilibre.

En plus de travailler dans des contextes cliniques, les orthophonistes et les audiologistes sont actifs en recherche, en éducation, en défense des intérêts, en counselling, en élaboration de politiques et en administration des soins de santé. Ils sont appuyés dans leurs tâches par des aides en santé de la communication.

Vous êtes prêt à participer? Cliquez ici afin de découvrir comment vous pouvez participer à notre campagne du Mois de la parole et de l’audition 2017!

 

À propos d’OAC

Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) est une organisation axée sur la membriété qui appuie, promeut et élève les professions de nos membres et associés. Nous sommes la seule organisation nationale à appuyer et à représenter avec passion les orthophonistes, les audiologistes et les aides en santé de la communication, inclusivement. Grâce à cet appui, nous défendons les besoins des personnes ayant des troubles de la communication.

Pour en apprendre davantage à propos d’OAC ou pour découvrir un professionnel en santé de la communication près de chez-vous, veuillez visiter www.santecommunication.ca.